Player VS SWTOR: A guide for Warcraft players (Part 1)

The biggest name now for years in the MMO gaming industry has been World of Warcraft. Even for those that don’t currently play it, it’s undeniable that you’ve heard of it or know somebody who has. It’s become a staple in the online gaming community and home to many, many gamers. Because of this, it’s an easy point of reference for many concepts used throughout the massively multiplayer online gaming universe.

Thrall VS The Sith
Things change though, games get old and people move; such is life online. Moving is hard though! My goal today is to not only give you a good guide on what Star Wars: The Old Republic and World of Warcraft share, but also those things that make SWTOR different and what you need to know. When you’re finished this, you can jump in feet first and feel totally pro. Let’s get started!

Part One:

  • Factions
    – Dark Side/Light Side
  • Classes
    – Advanced Classes
  • Species

Part Two:

  • Gearing
    – Armor
    – Stats
  • Companions
  • Crew Skills

Part Three:

  • Leveling/Questing
    – Heroics
    – Legacy
    – Transportation
  • Flash Points / Ops
  • Warzones / PVP
    – Warzones
    – World PVP
    – Valor Points
  • Social
    – Grouping
    – Guilds
    – Social Points

Like most any game on the market today, there are two sides to choose from in SWTOR: Empire and Republic. Though both have their own political agenda, available quests, and worlds they are able to visit; they are equal as far as game play is concerned. This is similar to Alliance and Horde in WoW; where neither side is really the ‘bad guy’ or ‘good guy’.

Light/Dark Side Points
Though there is no ‘good’ or ‘bad’ faction, it’s up to you if you want to be a good guy or a bad guy regardless of which side you choose. As the game progresses, you’ll get to make choices that will give you light side or dark side points depending on how you interact with NPCs. In turn, your character will develop by abiding by the light side of the force, or be corrupted by the dark side. This will effect what gear is available to you at later levels. Neutral is also an option, though not suggested.

There are four main classes in SWTOR: Jedi Knight/Sith Warrior, Jedi Counselor/Sith Inquisitor, Smuggler/Imperial Agent, and Trooper/Bounty Hunter. Each class is a mirror of the one on the opposite faction’s side, but may have it called something different with a different animation.

Advanced Classes
Once you get to level 10, you get to pick an advanced class. This is the point where you choose what kind of player you’re going to be. Each class has two advanced class options. Each advanced class option has three talent trees (two unique and one tree shared between both advanced class).

Hit Level 10 -> Pick 1 of 2 advanced classes -> Start putting points in one of your three talent trees.
Keep in Mind: Once you pick your advanced class, you can’t change it. You can change trees within the advanced class, but not the class itself.

Most classes have a healing advanced class, and a pure DPS or tank advanced class. In theory, the pure DPS class would do more damage but isn’t always the case. All advanced classes have at least one DPS tree (though it may be interior to the pure DPS alternative). Depending on which advanced class you choose, also depends on what additional spells and equipment options will become available to you.

Below is a rough guide line to help you choose what you want to play first. Keep in mind I’m focusing on the primary role of each advanced class. Each advanced class will also have at least one DPS tree in addition, that tree may have them play differently than their main role. (ie Jedi Sage as a healer is like a Disc priest, but a Jedi Sage in a DPS tree is like a fire mage).

Class Advanced Class Role, Weapon WoW Counterpart
Jedi Knight Sentinel Melee DPS, Dual lightsabers Fury Warrior
Jedi Knight Guardian Melee Tank, Single lightsaber Prot Warrior
Jedi Counselor Sage Healer, Single lightsaber Disc Priest
Jedi Counselor Shadow Melee DPS, Double-bladed lightsaber Rogue
Smuggler Gunslinger Ranged DPS, Dual pistols Marksman Hunter
Smuggler Scoundrel Healer, Pistol Resto Druid
Trooper Commando Healer, Guns Holy Paladin
Trooper Vanguard Melee Tank, Rifles Prot Paladin
Class Advanced Class Role, Weapon WoW Counterpart
Sith Warrior Marauder Melee DPS, Dual lightsabers Fury Warrior
Sith Warrior Juggernaut Melee Tank, Single lightsaber Prot Warrior
Sith Inquisitor Sorcerer Healer, Single-bladed lightsaber Disc Priest
Sith Inquisitor Assassin Melee DPS, Double-bladed lightsaber Rogue
Imperial Agent Sniper Ranged DPS, Dual pistols Marksman Hunter
Imperial Agent Operative Healer, Pistol Resto Druid
Bounty Hunter Mercenary Healer, Guns Holy Paladin
Bounty Hunter Powertech Melee Tank, Rifles Prot Paladin

In the future, we’ll go over some more aspects of classes and talents trees.

In the Star Wars universe, there are hundreds of different species (races). Once you pick your class, you’ll be presented with a few to choose from. Species are aligned with whichever faction you choose. Starting out, certain species will only be available for certain classes. BioWare has said that in the future more class/species options will become available. Unlike WoW, Species have no racial abilities that effect combat in any way, making them purely cosmetic preference.

That’s it for part one of our SWTOR for Warcraft players. Check out Part Two where we give you a heads up of what stats do what, who will be by your side on your journey, and how to make a quick buck along the way. Stick around, and you’ll be the most epic force in the galaxy in no time!

admin Author